Georgia on My Mind…No, the other Georgia.

In case you’re a bit daft, or don’t know me (or both), I like to travel. But the last time I packed my life into a suitcase, I had some issues with moving constantly and living in hotels rooms and I came home defeated because maybe I didn’t like to travel as much as I thought?

But then I was looking at some other international opportunities, and what really appealed to me was moving abroad, not simply travelling. So I applied to teach English in the Republic of Georgia, as part of an initiative by the Georgian government. And then I gathered letters o’ recommendation, and copies of my passport, and proof that I am who I say I am with the degree that I say I have, and sent it all off. Got an interview. Was tentatively accepted–sent off my soul and the accompanying paperwork so the FBI can say I’m not a criminal. (Anxiously awaiting those results, let me tell ya!) Put in my notice for both of my jobs, and mustered up the courage to tell the family that I am leaving, again, exactly 5 months after I got back. 

All of this happened in the span of 10 days. So, pending the good work of the FBI, peace out Georgia friends; I’m moving to Eastern Europe! If, like my grandparents and certain other loved ones, you have negative things to say, your input is not welcome. I can’t wait to see what’s in store, but please join me in praying and positive thoughts that my CRC arrives in time–the deadline is December 30th!

One thought on “Georgia on My Mind…No, the other Georgia.”

Leave a Reply

