Pachyderms! Or, Baby Dumbos

Photo Cred: Stuart Craighill JOY.
Photo Cred: Stuart Craighill
JOY.

I have wanted to ride/feed/be near/experience elephants up close for….ever. I’m basically in love with them, second to giraffes. And since I have already experiences giraffes up close and verrry personal, there was an elephant shaped hole in my heart.
So given that I was leaving Malaysia much sooner that expected, much of the team and I went on a little road trip to an elephant orphanage. Best decision of my life.
Things I learned:
The cartoons are accurate in their depiction of elephant trunks. They are in fact like vaccuums.
Baby elephants are brats. And made all the more adorable because of it.
Don’t feed elephants if you’re squeamish, and do bring hand-sanitizer.

It was an awesome day with awesome people, and now that’s one more thing checked off my list!

ELEEEEPHANTS!
ELEEEEPHANTS!
Miss Jenny feeding  the beasts.
Miss Jenny feeding the beasts.
Words cannot describe my excitement over this moment.
Words cannot describe my excitement over this moment.
Seriously. Culmination of a dream.
Seriously. Culmination of a dream.
I think his face says it all.
I think his face says it all.
Possibly my favorite photo of the trip.
Possibly my favorite photo of the trip.

One thought on “Pachyderms! Or, Baby Dumbos”

Leave a Reply

