“My favorite god is Ganesh!”

I like doing the ‘touristy’ things in a city. I know that’s not really on trend right now, so sue me. So when a colleague suggested the Batu Caves, I jumped at the chance. The Batu Caves are essentially caves halfway up a random mountain near KL, and they’ve been used as sheltered places for Hindu temples. It’s a huge tourist attraction, it’s free, and it’s a very short drive from the city centre.

Did I mention it was halfway up a mountain? It takes 272 steps to get to the top. The steps are thoughtfully designed in 20 step increments, providing convenient excuses to stop and take a breather. After starting out rather gung-ho, Tomas and I were humbled and took advantage of a few of those ‘breathers’.  Mainly under the guise of taking in the view…which really was rather nice.

At the top are Hindu temples for different gods and goddesses—I can’t pretend to know anything more than that. Hinduism has never hit the top of my interest list, although I am quite curious about Hanuman, and why he is ripping his heart open in his depictions. We were blessed at one of the temples. I’m sure it was coincidental that this happened after Tomas made a donation to the cause…but I suppose every religion needs funding from somewhere!

All in all, a successful trip! I got in my workout for (the next, uh, ever), was blessed by a Hindu priest, and saw some caves in Malaysia. And I didn’t scream when the birds flew near me. Newsflash—I am practically terrified of birds.

IMG_1570
I promise the priest was super excited. He hides his emotions well.
Catching water droplets. Takes some serious skill. and a disregard for germs.
Catching water droplets. Takes some serious skill. and a disregard for germs.
Hanuman. Ripping his heart open. And a very manly pose from Tomas.
Hanuman. Ripping his heart open. And a very manly pose from Tomas.
Before the trek that taught me I am never climbing Everest. Not that I was thinking about it.
Before the trek that taught me I am never climbing Everest. Not that I was thinking about it.
Winded even before the steps. That's what age will do to you!
Winded even before the steps. That’s what age will do to you!

The worlds tallest statue of Murugan. And yes, that it knowledge I gained from Wikipedia
The worlds tallest statue of Murugan. And yes, that it knowledge I gained from Wikipedia
