Bye Bye, Belgium

Ugh. I need to hire someone just to title these blogs. I’m seriously awful at this. 

 

I should be packing. (Reminder: I loathe packing–unpacking is an entirely different matter.)

Yesterday I got to spend the day in Brussels with a fellow friend/trainee and a senior consultant. We got to sit in on a meeting; obviously I am now entirely legitimate and officially a big shot. I kid, I kid 🙂

The day was busy–we had errands to run and a stop at one of the embassies, but I still got to see a lot of Brussels! Mainly by car, so forgive the quality of the photos. Brussels is gorgeous, but not in a obvious way. There are modern glass buildings (European Commission) intermixed with embassies that have 1800’s facades. It’s refreshing–I’m in love. If my plans to live in DC don’t come through, Brussels is my second choice. There are streets that scream to be noticed and appreciated, and for a city of more than 10 million, it’s surprisingly uncrowded. Except for the traffic–take the flashy cars of DC, and put them in a Peruvian traffic jam. That is Brussels traffic. 

I got a glimpse of what my life is going to be like for the next few years, and I am STOKED! I love sitting in a cafe and answering work emails. I adore wearing business clothes and having meetings. There is something intoxicating to me about this job– the people I get to meet, and the congresses and charters I get to attend. (Reminder: My degree is in Economics and Political Science. I AM A NERD, and I know it.)

Eventually I’m going to be proactive and pack for the 18 hours of travelling I have ahead of me. Right now, I’m going to take a nap. ImageImageImage

One thought on “Bye Bye, Belgium”

Leave a Reply

